20293 Results
Book jacket

Book

2006
Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...
Book jacket

Large Print

2017
An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.
Book jacket

Book

2009
"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...
Book jacket

Large Print

2018
"Seeking justice against the man who stole his birthright and destroyed his family, Logan Fowler arrives in 1890s Pecan Gap, Texas to confront Zach Hamilton, a hardened criminal responsible for his father's death. What h...
Book jacket

Large Print

2016
When heartache and loss invade Karen Pierce's carefully ordered world, her plans and dreams for the future seem distant and unattainable. Continuing the trek north, her heart begins to find the core of her once-solid fai...
Book jacket

Large Print

2018
In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child -- not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of morta...
Book jacket

Book

2018
Determined to reclaim her lands from her ruthless cousins by any means necessary, Mora Ogilvy finds her plans thwarted by her attraction to Sir Gybbon Murray, a handsome knight who has come to her aid and refuses to leav...
Book jacket

Large Print

2017
When a financial crisis in 1850s New York leaves three orphaned sisters nearly destitute, the oldest, Elise Neumann, knows she must take action. She's had experience as a seamstress, and the New York Children's Aid Socie...
Book jacket

Book

2005
In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.
Book jacket

Book

2016
"#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey delivers a sparkling, passionate tale of an earl's daughter who must convince a mysterious viscount to marry her and end his vendetta against her brother. One duel co...
Book jacket

Book

2014
"New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell returns to his epic Saxon Tales saga with The Pagan Lord, a dramatic story of divided loyalties, bloody battles, and the struggle to unite Britain.At the onset of the t...
Book jacket

Book

2017
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...
Book jacket

Book

2008
When novelist Carrie McClelland decides to set her new novel in Slains Castle in Scotland and uses her ancestor, Sophia Paterson, as one of the characters, the novel begins to take on a life of its own and Carrie soon re...
Book jacket

Book

2003
A literary mystery, set in 1537 when Henry VIII was launching his attacks on England's monasteries. An agent of Thomas Cromwell, sent to "assess" the monastery at Scarnsea, has been murdered. Dr.Matthew Shardlake is sent...
Book jacket

Large Print

2018
Marianne Neumann takes a job as a placing agent with the Children's Aid Society in hopes of finding her younger sister. In 1858 New York she finds it's not always easy to offer children a better life.
Book jacket

Book

2018
Willa Knox has always prided herself on being the embodiment of responsibility for her family. Which is why it's so unnerving that she's arrived at middle age with nothing to show for her hard work and dedication but a s...
Book jacket

Book

2018
"The women of Hope River trust midwife Patience Hester, whose skill in delivering babies is known for miles around. But though the Great Depression is behind them, troubles are not--for Europe is at war ... and it can on...
Book jacket

Book

2017
World War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five daughters, when a soldier with a failed parachute falls to his death on the estate. After his uniform and possessions raise suspicio...
Book jacket

Large Print

2018
"When the owner of the New York Yankees baseball team, Colonel Jacob Ruppert, takes Helen Winthrope, a young actress, under his wing, she thinks it's because of his guilt over her father's accidental death--and so does A...